The Seven Twenty are a Cambridge based indie rock band comprising
James Burling (singer, songwriter, guitarist), Stewart Harris (bassist, backing vocals) and Helen Robertson (drums).

Following the release of a 5 track demo CD in 2014, The Seven Twenty came to the attention of infamous American magazine “The Village Voice” who called the tracks “beautiful lo-fi genius”, and the band subsequently received national airplay in the US followed by a short sold out tour of venues in New York.

Following the culmination of two years of recording sessions in the UK and NY, the band will release their debut album on UK indie label, Castles in Space on 30th November, 2015. Eponymously entitled, “The Seven Twenty”, this 10” LP will be pressed in a hand numbered limited edition of 300 pressed up on black and white haze wax with inserts. Each copy will include a free digital download.

This is an album packed with wonderful songs, classic melodies, and heart wrenching, lovelorn lyrics. James is a brilliant writer, creating a timeless collection of infectious ear-worm tunes which call to mind the magical mix of C86, The Velvet Underground, Steely Dan, The Go-Betweens and The Wedding Present. He has a real gift for melody and knows how to write a song which is built to last.

It’s a super-tight set formed of eight songs coming in at 30 minutes – but from the opener “Corridors” with it’s blue eyed soul vocals, rich strings and delicious wah-wah solo to closer “(Can’t Find No Love In This) City” this record hits every emotional, heart-stopping mark. There is real depth to the lyrics and James knows how to effortlessly make the goosebumps rise and the spine tingle. The single “Haiku” is pure garage pop heaven with its 1-2-3-4 intro, the raw guitar and vocal hook and the way that the final verse is an actual haiku. This is a multi layered record with fantastic songs. Recorded in Cambridge, London and New York – including some sessions in Henry Rollins’ apartment.